Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-03-11 - 8:30 a.m.

Tina Brown, in speaking of the Michael Jackson trial, has now compared being a celebrity to being infected with HIV.

REALLY. She actually did.

It is perhaps one of the most ridiculous things I have heard in a while. Although I am not HIV positive I find this quite insulting.

How does one compare an ILLNESS that probably will eventually kill you, causing great sickness, waging a war inside your body that you are virtually powerless to do anything about to a STATUS that you have either sought out (I�m sorry, as a performer myself, I can honestly say that if you start seriously in this business somewhere in the back of your mind you are aware that �celebrity� is a possibility and that by continuing in this line you accept that possibility whether you comprehend it fully or not) that more often than not brings money, privilege, power and opportunity? (So you have to deal with paparazzi? Sorry, honey, boo-fucking-hoo� DEAL with IT! It�s not the same as dealing with the many ugly �surprises� that HIV infection brings with it)

I just think it was an absolutely appalling comparison. A stupid and thoughtless thing to say. I know what point she was trying to make, I just think she showed a complete lack of sensitivity in attempting to do so.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!