Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-01-28 - 10:32 a.m.

I had a great time at the benefit last night.

Crobar is a shit hole, for sure. I mean the space is fantastic but the staff is less so. While there were a few decent folks working there most of them were obnoxious gits obviously only looking for the next celebrity or celebutante to walk through the door. I am neither so perhaps that accounts for my experience. Eh�at least the drinks were free.

Nonetheless the ladies were just fab!

I have always wanted to see Nancy Sinatra, love her music, and she did not disappoint. Her voice is a bit huskier (she is 64, after all) but I think that just gives her an edge. Much the same as it does for Marianne Faithfull (not putting Nancy up there with Marianne mind you).

I was thrilled when she ended her set with �You Only Live Twice�. I would have loved to hear �Some Velvet Morning� but I knew that was a longshot. Her new material sounded great, especially the Morrisey song �Let Me Kiss You�. I just LOVE the drama of her voice and the music she chooses. Brilliant.

Sandy was, as ever, amazing and wonderful. I have said enough about her in theses pages over the years so I will leave well enough alone. EXCEPT to say that when she did the cover of �Kiss Me Deadly� this time, it was on fire. She definitely has benefited from some down time, I can see that, she was hot.

Then Cyndi. What can I say?? I love her. The last time I saw her in concert our seats were the shittiest I have ever had (Beacon Theatre, balcony = no view) and I was kind of pissed but this time it was perfect. She looked radiant and sounded beautiful. She did this amazing duet with Angela Mccluskey (formerly of Wild Colonials, whom I adore) and it was just breathtaking. I mean literally jaw dropping for me as a fan. She also duetted with Sandy on �Money Changes Everything� which took on so many different meanings with the two of them working together but in the end really just made it all the more a festive atmosphere.

Our friend Nellie is collaborating with Cyndi on a new song. I think the working title is �Precious, Luscious�� and something�I don�t remember exactly but from what she describes it sounds pretty awesome. Both are very generous artists so I think it will be something special. Last night�s performance just solidified that for me.

The show ended with the three women doing �Girls Just Want To Have Fun� and best of all Nancy led the ladies in a version of �Boots� including back up girls in go-go boots and all (the dancers were nothing special, sadly).

I would LOVE a chance to see that one again!!!! It was so much fun. A friend of ours did press for the show and I think he has the footage so I am hoping he will give us a copy.

All in all it was a fantastic night. I am thrilled that we went. The fact that it was for a good cause made it even sweeter.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!