Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-11-27 - 11:16 a.m.

Check out RuPaul's weblog for the entries where she reprints Larry Kramer's speech at Cooper Union, a couple of weeks ago. It is powerful.

Although it is obviously targeted at the gay male audience it really can be directed at many of the minority groups in this country.

We're complacent. Lazy. Accepting our fates but not realizing/acknowledging that we are doing so. Letting our neighbors persish in fire and not calling for help because it would interfere with a rerun of "Queer Eye for the Straight Guy".

I don't always agree with Larry Kramer but I feel empowered by this speech...terrified but empowered.

It is a long speech (and in two separate entries) but well worth your time.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!