Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-10-08 - 10:33 a.m.

There was such a beautiful haze over the East River last night.

As I jogged along Stuyvessant Cove I was absolutely riveted by the dark, dreamy color of the sky contrasting with the light coming off of the water and the buildings.

Normally, being that I was in a hurry (late for an appointment � how novel!!), I wouldn�t have noticed or if I had I wouldn�t have slowed down.

A building crane looked, and I am not exaggerating, absolutely stunning against the skyline. Sitting just across the River in Queens, stark white.

At first I wished I had a camera with me. Then I realized that it wouldn�t matter because I wasn�t a good enough photographer to capture the true beauty of it anyway.

Then I began noticing other things.

A woman, middle-age, fat, with braids that she had fashioned into some sort of Pippi Longstocking design, wearing an apron, sitting on the ground, practicing yoga or something. Sitting next to her she had placed a bottle of Ken�s salad dressing.

Two Japanese tourists. Totally hipster doofus-ed out. Strolling along arm in arm, very obviously in love with this City and with each other (I especially tend to avoid looking at PDAs, as I normally find them obnoxious � but this time�I only noticed and accepted, didn�t judge).

The homeless guy, always wrapped in garbage bag (but in a design�like he doesn�t just wrap bags around him he actually makes pants, shirt and turban from the garbage bags and then wears them) dancing around the port-a-john door very obviously needing to go, while the door read �Occupied�.

I just saw it all as very theatrical, a show being staged, very dramatic in its boringness. Does that make any sense to anyone??

I guess maybe I can�t do it justice but it was just�it just made me feel a part of something that too often lately I don�t feel a part of at all. I started to feel human again. I stopped being angry, stopped being selfish, stopped being defensive. I observed and in the process I became a part of the show.

It was nice. It made me happy. It made me feel good again.

Even if just for a little while.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!