Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-09-02 - 2:51 p.m.

Sunday we attended the protest march.

It was a really great day. The march was effective and peaceful. The weather was perfect and we really felt energized by it all.

Personally, I found a new energy. One that isn�t fueled by being on the right side or even winning an election but about being seen and being heard and finding change within myself.

I realized that there is a very real possibility that W will be back in the Oval Office come January 2005.

That, to me, would be horrible. Truly. But this is about so much more. It is about evolving as a people and all of the trials and tribulations that entails.

No matter what, those of us who know the truth will never give up or fall prey to the rhetoric and the fear.

Art will only become stronger in times like these. Humanity will become wiser.

I hate the price that we have to pay. I would much prefer that this administration never was and will never be again but I know that isn�t possible. If W is voted out it won�t end there. There are plenty of people left in this network to replace him in years to come. I only want to balance them out so that their network, their power doesn�t reach further than we can manage.

The Democrats aren�t that much better either. I will vote for them because their voting records and platforms are the closest to my own beliefs and because it will either be a Republican or a Democrat who will win. I may find a party that more closely matches my own interests but realistically I know that party won�t win. Yes, it is a lesser of two evils scenario. The system sucks but we are far too entrenched in it to change it now. Nothing short of a revolution will change this government system. Personally I don�t think there ever will be a revolution in this country.

Our job is to act as watchdogs. To educate and be educated. To speak up and not let these assholes get away with everything they get away with. This is done through the smaller political parties, through activist groups, community groups, families and my favorite, through art.

So many performances, exhibits and writings have come up as a result of this week and this last four years (some amazing and some that suck shit) that you have to believe that this is our �revolution�. This is what will rally our people to demand what is ours and demand that it is our interests that are put first not the corporations, the special interest groups, etc.

We can�t afford to be dumb, we can�t afford to have people who worship television as the new religion make all the decisions for us. We have to come together as an informed, intelligent and compassionate group and force these people to make decisions based on criteria not associated with their religious affiliation or the company that they have the most shares in.

I feel better now than I did this time last week. Even with all of these damned Republican delegates roaming the streets in their safe little delusional bubbles. Even with the Chief Moron now on foot here. I feel better.

*****

Monday we took the day off and went to the US Open opening day matches.

We had an awesome time. I always look forward to returning to the Open. It�s become like another holiday. We keep saying that we are going to take a week off and get tix for each day but we haven�t done it yet. I think next year we will.

Anyway the weather started a bit overcast and humid. It then evolved into sunny, HOT and humid. I really felt filthy by around 1ish. But fortunately I can do filthy.

We got to see some fine matches, nothing spectacular. The Rochus vs Ancic match was pretty good. Olivier Rochus has some hot game. He can�t be taller than 5�6� but he has a really solid all around game (backhand is really excellent).

The Moya match was fine although we left after he finally started controlling the match.

Usually I love watching the women�s matches more but there really wasn�t a lot exciting going on.

Actually a lot of the best stuff was happening on the practice courts. As it was the first day we had some up close and personal views of great players like Haas (damn�without a shirt�close up�oh�my�god! Not to mention that his shorts left very little to the imagination- hey, I�m hot for it, so what??), Rubin, Guga (who sadly lost his match later � love him though), Ferrero (yeah!) and a slew of others including my crush�Dominick Hrbaty. YUM. He is just so freaking adorable and tasty I can barely stand it. When he walked right by me as he left the practice court I couldn�t say a thing. And can you believe not one person even paid attention to him? Sad.

Anyway the day was hot, humid, hugely fun, terribly engaging, educational and very definitely charged with sex.

I would say that was pretty damned amazing for a Monday. Would they were all like that.

I go back again tomorrow (unfortunately with my work team � as a �team building� event) and then B and I go back one more time on Tuesday night.

Other than that just been busy trying to figure my life out (good luck with that!), visualizing my future, avoiding the Repubs and counting the seconds to the Labor Day weekend.

*In doing spellcheck, Repubs was replaced by repulse � how utterly perfect.

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!